top of page

Welcome to a Brave New World.


This is where I should be writing something brilliant to catch your attention. The hook always makes me think, "ouch!" How do you feel about some information, instead? Well, I'm certainly a fan. Let's see how that goes, shall we?

This site exists because I can't focus on one thing long enough to do anything with it. I have too many things I want to work on, and I feel splintered. So, I put all the writing things in one place. ... ... ... Phew! It's like a load off, already.

I bet you'd like to know what I'm planning to put here though, wouldn't you?

Adventure Learning. Once upon a time, I ran an umbrella school for homeschoolers. I called it Adventure Learning Academy. It was wildly successful. I was single-handedly responsible for a 4 year old college graduate, and lead a school project that resulted in the colonization of the moon. ... ... No? ... .. OK, well every family that ever signed up with us was glad they had, no one ever left for any reason other than their child graduating, and everyone was disappointed when I closed the business. It's one of the real successes in my life. If it weren't for some painfully short sighted anti-homeschooling state legislature, it would probably be going strong to this day. I had two specific projects within the school, that I plan to revitalize. One was a monthly newsletter that contained links to free online educational resources. I framed it with a theme, and was sure to include links for all ages and subjects. That turned out like a kind of unit study. I had a surprisingly enthusiastic response for the homeschooling community, and have been meaning to get it up and going again for years. Second, I archived those newsletters for my clients to access as they saw fit.

So...a theme each month in the following areas;

Language Arts

Mathematics

Science

Social Studies

Physical Education

Fine Arts

World Community (this can range from volunteering opportunities to international pen pals to self improvement)

And a link, project idea, field trip suggestion, or something at each of the following levels;

Pre-K

Early Elementary

Late Elementary

Middle School

High School

Homeschooling in the News. Short term, I'm really just planning to link to national or international stories. Long term, I'd really like to print the submissions of homeschoolers. Parents, students, friends, family, etc. I've run special projects and helped kids get short lived local newspapers going before. I would find it intriguing and yes, personally gratifying to run this kind of project on a larger scale.

Non-Fiction. Well, you know, those articles we always look up. How to teach calculus, or potty train. What is the difference between radical unschooling and authoritarian parenting techniques? Only, instead of just linking to someone else's, or writing them myself, I want to provide a space for homeschoolers and homeschooler adjacents to share their world of knowledge with...well, the world.

Fiction. I admit that not everyone loves every story or poem you or your kid writes nearly as much as you do. The thing is, a lot of those stories are really incredible! I'd love to put together a kind of "readers digest" of the homeschooling world. I know I'd read it every month. I'm not the only one that always turns to the reader submissions first in Boys Life and Highlights, am I?

Submissions. I'm looking for writers and photographers of all ages. To kick things off, I'm hoping the opportunity to be heard will be incentive enough. For the time being, this is a hobbyist endeavor for me. If a following builds and there is an opportunity to earn money from IdNomadic Press...well, that changes the landscape. If money is coming in, money will be invested. After cleaning up the site and going ad free, my priority would be providing compensation for the writers and photographers of all ages who's content I'm publishing. So, please...share the newsletters and link back to the website. Donate, and buy things from whatever affiliates we are supported by. The greater the momentum, the greater the opportunities I can create for others.

Behind the Screen
Follow IdNomadic Press
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
Departments
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page